Microsoft Office, first impression

After reading several very positive and enthusiastic reviews of new Microsoft Office, I decided to give it a try and see what all the excitement is about.

I mean it is Office, how different it can be, right?

Well, it is different, a lot and those things are very positive. I guess I used myself to interface as it was till now and didn't feel the need to change anything there. New Office is significant change from previous versions, at present I found new interface easy to get used to and easy to work with.

I tried mostly apps that would be used on desktop, no SharePoint for example, and I loved them. I like them all, for example Outlook doesn't look that much different until you realise how much integrated with rest of the Office.

What I liked best and will probably have to fork some money for it, is OneNote, I liked it as soon as I saw it before, but this version brings a whole new level of usefulness and I think it will be well worth the money from how much it will help me organize information and be more efficient to research subjects.

You wouldn't think that working with Word can be brought to higher level. Well I loved how they improved it, new fonts are OK as well. MS Access of course, I used to start each new office release from there, it seems a lot has been done there but I couldn't spend that much time to see and go through everything.

At last, PowerPoint looks great and will bring more fun to writing presentations and outlines.

I would assume you want to see what I am talking about, you can download Office Beta from Microsoft here:

http://www.microsoft.com/office/preview/beta/overview.mspx

~ by Zeljko Dakic on June 9, 2006.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

